Food and Culture: Food Events (Festivals, Holidays)

"A guide to the legend and lore behind the traditions, rituals, foods, games, animals, and other symbols and activities associated with holidays and holy days, feasts and fasts, and other celebrations, covering calendar, ethnic, religious, historic, cultural, national, promotional, sporting, and ancient events, as observed in the United States and around the world."
Rev. ed. of: Holiday symbols. 2nd ed. c2000
Includes bibliographical references and indexes

Note "A compendious reference guide to popular, ethnic, religious, national, and ancient holidays, festivals, celebrations, commemorations, holy days, feasts, and fasts; supplemented by special sections on calendar systems, the millennium, admission days and facts about the states and territories, Presidents of the United States, tourism information sources, and web sites on holidays; special indexes of chronological, ethnic and geographic, historical, religious, ancient, folkloric, calendar, promotional and sports holidays, state and national legal holidays, general, and subject indexes."
Includes bibliographical references (p. 543-565) and indexes

Note "Provides information about the history and celebration of more than 100 holidays, festivals, and other events observed by Americans of African descent. Features include narrative overviews, chronology of historical events related to holidays and festivals, calendar and geographical listings of observances, bibliography, and contact information and web sites"--Provided by publisher