JWU-Charlotte Library:
801 West Trade Street, Charlotte, North Carolina 28202
980 598-1611
What you'll find below is a starting place for locating historical information on a variety of dishes.
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Cabinet Pudding |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cacciatore |
The Foodies Companion Call Number: TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cachou |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Caesar Salad |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| California Rolls |
The Foodies Companion Call Number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Calzone |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Canape |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cantaloupe Lillian Russell |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Caper |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Caponata |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Caramel |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Carbonara |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Carbonnades a la Flamande |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Carnitas |
The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion - Call Number: TX349 .H532 2009 (Available at Reference Desk) |
|
| Carpaccio |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Carbet-bag Steak |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Carrot Cake |
The Foodies Companion Call Number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Carrots Julienne |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Carrots Vichy |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cassata |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cassata Siciliana | A World of Cake: 150 Recipes for Sweet Traditions from Cultures Near and Far - Call Number: TX771 .C35 2010 (Available at the Reference Desk) (See section on Italy - pages 196-197) | |
| Cassoulet |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cassoulet de Castelnaudary |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Caviare (or Caviar) |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cervelat |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Challah |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chantilly |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chapati |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Charlotte |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Charlotte Royale |
Classic patisserie : an A-Z handbook Call Number: TX773 .J83 1998 (Available at the Reference Desk)
|
|
| Charlotte Russe |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chateaubriand |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chasseur |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chaudfroid |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cheddar |
The Foodies Companion Call Number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cheesecake |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chelsea Buns |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cherries Jubilee |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chess Tarts |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Chicken a la King |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chicken Cordon Bleu |
Larousse gastronomique - Call Number: TX349 .L365 2001 (Available at Reference Desk and in Reference) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chicken Dijon |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chicken Divan |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Chicken Fricassee |
Martha Washington's Booke of cookery ; and Booke of sweetmeats |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chicken Fried Steak |
The Foodies Companion Call Number: TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chicken Kiev |
The Russian Tea Room Cookbook - Call Number: TX723.3 .S79 Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
|
Chicken Marbella |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
|
Chicken Marengo (see Poulet Saute Marengo) |
|
|
| Chicken Tetrazzini |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Chicken Tikka Masala |
The Foodies Companion Call Number: TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chicken Valle D'Auge |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chiffon Cake |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Chiffonade Dressing |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Chilequiles (also spelled as chilaquiles / also known as eggs-migas) |
The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion - Call Number: TX349 .H532 2009 (Available at Reference Desk) Look under chilaquiles. |
|
| Chilli Con Carne |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| China Chilo |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chip |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chipolata |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chitterling |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chivet |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chocolate Bars |
The Foodies Companion CAll Number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk |
|
| Chocolate Chip Cookies |
The Foodies Companion Call number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chocolate Mousse |
The Foodies Companion Call number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chop Suey |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Choron sauce |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Choucroute a l'Alsacienne |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Choux Pastry |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chowder |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chow Mein |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Christmas Pudding |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chuck Wagon |
The Foodies Companion Call Number: TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Chutney |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Ciabatta |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Clam Chowder |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Clams Casino |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Clafoutis |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Clotted Cream |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cloutie Dumpling |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cob |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cobb Salad |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Cobbler |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Coburg |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cock-a-leekie |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Colbert sauce |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Colcannon |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Coleslaw |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Collop |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Comfit |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Concord Grape Parfait Pie |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Confit |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Consomme |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Consomme Madrilene |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Cookie |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Coquilles Saint-Jacques a la Parisienne |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Corned Beef and Cabbage |
The Foodies Companion Call Number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cornish Pasty |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Coronation Chicken |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Cortes de Porc Normande (also known as Pork Chops Normande) |
Larousse Gastronomique - Call Number: TX349 .L365 2009 (Available at Reference Desk) (Look under Normande Sauce.) Pork Chops with Normande Sauce |
|
| Cotechino |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cotelettes de Porc Charcuterie (Pork Chop Cutlets) |
|
|
| Cottage Loaf |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cottage Pie |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Coulibilac |
The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion - Call Number: TX349 .H532 2009 (Available at Reference Desk) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Coulis |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Country Captain |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Court Bouillon |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Couscous |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crab Louis |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crabmeat Remick |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cracker Jack |
The Foodies Companion TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crackling |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cracknel |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crappit heids |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cream Cracker |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Creme Agnes Sorel |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Creme Brulee |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Creme Caramel |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Creme Dubarry |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crepe |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crepes Suzette |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crispbread |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Croccante |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Croissant |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Croquembouce |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Croque-Monsieur |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Croquette |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crostini |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crowdie |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crown Roast |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cruller |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Crumpet |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cullen Skink |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Cumberland Sauce |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Current Jelly Tarts |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Curry |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|