JWU-Charlotte Library:
801 West Trade Street, Charlotte, North Carolina 28202
980 598-1611
What you'll find below is a starting place for locating historical information on a variety of dishes.
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Baba |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Babas Au Rhum |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Bacalhau |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bagels |
The Foodies Companion Call Number: TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Baked Alaska |
An A to Z of Food and Drink - Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Encyclopedia of American Food & Drink - Call Number: TX349 .M266 1999 Larousse Gastronomique - TX349 .L365 2001 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Bakewell Tart |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bananas Foster |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Banana Split |
The Foodies Companion Call number: TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Banbury Cake |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bannocks or Scones |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Baps |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bath Buns |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bath Chap |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bath Oliver |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Battenburg Cake |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bavarian Cream |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bavarois |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bechamel sauce |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) The Saucier's Apprentice: A Modern Guide to Classic French Sauces for the Home - Call Number: TX819.A1 S64 1976 Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Beef Olive |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Beef Stroganoff |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Beef Wellington (see Filet de Boeuf Wellington) |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Belgian Waffle |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bellini |
The Foodies Companion Call Number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Bernaise Sauce |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bhaji |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bialy |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bibingka |
Cakes from Around the World Call Number TX771 .D836 2009 (Availabe in Reference) Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (in the section on the Phillipines) Call Number GT2850 .E53 2003 v.3 (Available at Reference Desk, and for checkout) |
|
| Billi-Bi |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Biscuit Tortoni |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Bismark |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Bisque |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Black Bottom Pie |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection)
|
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Black Forest Cake |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) A World of Cake: 150 Recipes for Sweet Traditions From Cultures Near and Far - Call Number: TX771 .C35 2010 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtime.line.org |
| Blackout Cake | http://www.foodtimeline.org/foodcakes.html#blackout and http://kitchenproject.com/history/ChocolateBlackoutCake/ |
|
| Black Pudding |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Blancmange |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Blanquette |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bloater |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bloody Mary |
The Foodie Companion Call Number TX651 .H653 2011 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Blushing Bunny |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Bollito Misto |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bombay Duck |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bombe |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bonbon |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Boreks |
The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion - Call Number: TX349 .H532 2009 (Available at Reference Desk) |
|
| Boston Brown Bread |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Boston Cream Pie |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Boston Baked Beans |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Botargo |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bouillabaisse |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bourbon Biscuit |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Brandade |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Brawn |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bridge Roll |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Bridie |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Brown Windsor |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Brunswick Stew |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Bubble and Squeak |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bucatini all'Amatriciana |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Buccellato also known as Sweet Bread |
Giuliano Bugialli's Foods of Tuscany - Call Number TX723.2 .T86 B84 1992 Flavors of Tuscany: Traditional Recipes from the Tuscan Countryside - Call Number TX723.2 .T86 J46 1998 |
|
| Buche de Noel |
A World of Cake: 150 Recipes for Sweet Traditions From Cultures Near and Far - Call Number: TX771 .C35 2010 (Available at the Reference Desk) Cakes from around the World - Call Number: TX 771 .D836 2009 |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Buckling |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Buck Rabbit |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Buffalo Wings |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Bully Beef |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Burgoo |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Butterscotch |
An A-Z of Food and Drink Call Number: TX349 .A86 2002 (Available at the Reference Desk) |