Career Guide (Charlotte Campus): Sports Management Careers

Many Kentuckians and fans of intercollegiate athletics are familiar with the name Jim Host. As founder and CEO of Host Communications, he was the pioneer in college sports marketing. Host's prevailing innovation in collegiate sports was the concept of bundled licensing, which encouraged corporate partners to become official sponsors of athletic programs across media formats. Host and his team developed the NCAA Radio Network and introduced what became known as the NCAA's Corporate Partner Program, which employed companies such as Gillette, Valvoline, Coca-Cola, and Pizza Hut to promote university athletic programs and the NCAA at large. Host was involved with the construction of Rupp Arena, the Kentucky Horse Park, and the KFC Yum! Center. But few know his full story. Changing the Game is the first complete account of the entrepreneur's professional life, detailing his achievements in sports radio, management, and broadcasting; his time in minor league baseball, real estate, and the insurance business; and his foray into Kentucky politics, including his appointments under governors Louie B. Nunn and Ernie Fletcher. This memoir provides a behind-the-scenes look at the growth of big-time athletics and offers solutions for current challenges facing college sports.

Sports Ethics for Sports Management Professionals provides students with the necessary tools to make ethical decisions in the sports management field. It presents several ethical models that the sports management professional can use as a platform to make ethical decisions. Directed at future sports executives and sports managers, the book contains numerous case studies which allow students to apply the ethical decision-making process to a sports-related ethical dispute.

The Business of Sports, Second Edition is a comprehensive collection of readings that focus on the multibillion-dollar sports industry and the dilemmas faced by today's sports business leaders. It covers professional, Olympic, and collegiate sports, and highlights the major issues that impact each of these broad areas.The Second Edition provides insight from a variety of stakeholders in the industry and covers the major business disciplines of management, marketing, finance, information technology, accounting, ethics, and law. Each chapter features concise introductions, a broad range of focused readings and targeted discussion questions, and graphs and tables to convey relevant financial data and other statistics.

For more than seven years, the incisive commentary of Burton and O'Reilly has graced the pages of SportsBusiness Journal, the industry's leading trade journal. Now, fifty of their most recent columns are collected in one volume, providing thoughtful and deeply knowledgeable insight into many of the industry's most contentious issues. Covering an era in sports that has experienced rapid change, the authors discuss such topics as gender equity, corporate sponsorship, collegiate athletics, diversity, and the future of sports. As two of the leading scholars in the business of sports, Burton and O'Reilly also draw upon years of experience to give both students and industry professionals a dual perspective on the role sports play in a healthy, thriving society.

Career Opportunities in the Sports Industry, Fourth Edition contains more than 70 job profiles, each carefully reviewed and updated to reflect current duties, requirements, and salary ranges. More than 15 appendixes have been completely updated. New and updated job profiles include: Aerobics instructor; Boxing manager; Pro baseball umpire; Professional football player; Sports industry attorney; and, Sportswriter.

Careers in Sport, Fitness, and Exercise is your guide to landing your dream job in one of today's most exciting, popular, and fastest-growing industries! Produced by the American Kinesiology Association, this hands-on guide includes detailed job descriptions, information on working conditions, salary ranges, responsibilities, key skills, and required certifications for 36 careers in sport and fitness: * Aquatic therapist * Athletic trainer (college or university sport team) * Athletic trainer (high school sport team) * Athletic trainer (as physician extender) * Athletic trainer (clinical) * Personal trainer * Group exercise instructor * Strength and conditioning coach * Fitness center owner or manager * Fitness leader in gerontology settings * Health promotion specialist * Fitness specialist * Physical education teacher * Sport instructor * Coach * Sport official * Sport psychologist * Sport administrator * Sport marketer * Media and public relations specialist * Professional scout * Sport event manager * Sport journalist * Sport facility operations manager * Clinical exercise physiologist * Certified clinical exercise specialist * Sport dietitian * Sports medicine clinic director * Physical therapist * Occupational therapist * Medical and osteopathic physicians * Chiropractor * Physician assistant * Kinesiology professor * Kinesiology researcher * Kinesiology department administrator If you are ready to pursue a job in the sport, fitness, or exercise industry, Careers in Sport, Fitness, and Exercise is one resource you can't be without.

This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook. Jobs in the sports industry are growing at a pace more than double that of the national average. Students with an interest in the sports field have a wide variety of options in professional sports, sport equipment, and the sports management industries. Careers in Sports is designed to provide need-to-know information on the wide variety of careers in this multi-billion dollar industry that students can choose from. Careers in Sports provides detailed information on 25 different career paths, including: Athletic Trainer Branding Expert Facility Manager Marketing Manager Professional Athlete Promoter Referee Sales Manager Talent Scout Sports Agent . Detailed and accessible chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professionas including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.