LibGuides: Charlotte Nutrition Guide: Websites

Professional Organizations

American Dietetic Association With nearly 70,000 members, the American Dietetic Association is the nation’s largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. ADA serves the public by promoting optimal nutrition, health and well-being.
American Heart Association The AHA site contains information pertaining to all aspects of heart health including diet, warning signs, recipes and more plus links to the association publications.
American Society for Nutrition A non-profit organization dedicated to bringing together the world's top researchers, clinical nutritionists and industry to advance our knowledge and application of nutrition for the sake of humans and animals.
Center for Science in the Public Interest Nutrition site that hopes to transform the American diet by providing useful, objective information and conducting research on food, alcohol, health, the environment, and other issues related to science and technology.
Collaborative on Health and the Environment CHE’s goals include sharing new research on environmental impacts on disease and fostering interdisciplinary and inclusive research efforts. CHE strives to create working partnerships between academic and medical research communities and community action or public policy efforts.
Data Resource Cetner for Child & Adolescent Health (DRC) The DRC for Child and Adolescent Health contains a wealth of national and state-level statistics on hundreds of child health indicators drawn from the National Survey of Children's Health and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.
Dietary Reference Intakes This eBook is the accepted source in nutrient allowances for healthy people.
FamilyDoctor.org The homepage of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) delivers “health information for the whole family.” An impressive list of health tools—including dictionaries, an AAFP physician directory, calculators, immunization schedules, and more—complements a browsable list of symptoms and conditions by age and gender. In addition to information on diseases, the site also contains recommendations for healthy living.
Food & Nutrition Information Center Nonprofit organization dedicated to bringing about a clearer understanding of the issues surrounding food allergies and providing helpful resources.
International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) A resource and support system for food professionals worldwide.
ProCon.org ProCon.org is a nonprofit public charity. Their mission is to "promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
Society for Nutrition Education The SNE represents the unique professional interests of nutrition educators in the United States and worldwide.
World Health Organization's Food Safety WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. The Department of Food Safety, Zoonoses and Foodborne Diseases (FOS) strives to reduce the serious negative impact of foodborne diseases worldwide.

Additional Websites

Ask the Dietitian Provides answers to several hundred diet/nutrition questions.
Blonz Guide to Nutrition, Food & Health Resources Provides links to the food, fitness, health, and medical resources.
Fast Food Facts This site offers searchable nutritional information on over 2,600 fast food items.
Healthline Provides detailed facts about a number of conditions as well as news articles, expert blogs and interactive tools.
OnlineConversion.com This site boasts that one can “convert just about anything to anything else.” And with 50,000 conversions and 5,000 units, it has an impressive range. Sure, it has the popular conversions: length, temperature, speed, volume, weight, cooking, area, fuel economy, and currency.
PDRhealth (TM) Drawing on the trusted Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR®), this site provides information for prescriptions drugs, over-the-counter medications, and herbals/supplements. Included are recommended dosage, side effects, possible food and drug reactions, and in many cases pictures to assist with drug identification.

Government Sites

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) A government agency from the Department of Health and Human Services, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention site includes information about diseases and data and statistics related to disease and mortality.
Choose My Plate Fun, interactive information on healthy eating, with an emphasis on food groups, balancing calories, portions, and dietary guidelines, from the United States Department of Agriculture.
Food-A-Pedia Look up a food to get quick access to nutrition info for over 8,000 foods. Choose and compare 2 foods.
FoodSafety.gov Gateway to government food safety information.
HealthFinder.gov This is a service of the National Health Information Center, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Healthfinder is an award-winning Federal Web site for consumers. Since 1997, healthfinder has been recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet. It links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations
National Agricultural Library Great information
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine Is one of 26 agencies comprising the National Institutes of Health. The web site provides access to a whole host of resources aimed at health care consumers and practitioners, and individuals engaged in research. Contains more than 270,000 bibliographic citations from the Medline Database from 1965-present.
National Institutes of Health The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
National Library of Medicine The world's largest medical library from the National Institutes of Health. Choose the "Researchers" link in the center column to browse an archive of biomedical & life sciences journals, from the 19th century to current.
USA.gov The official web portal for all local, state and federal goverment information and statistics.
USDA's Nutrition.gov Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers. A service of the National Agricultural Library, USDA.
USDA Food and Nutrition Food nutrition and safety information, including nutrient profiles for thousands of foods and the FoodSafety Gateway.
USDA Nutrient Data Labratory To develop authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods and dietary supplements available in the United States. Includes a searchable Nutrient Database.

Educational Sites

Johnson & Wales University's Recipes Culinary Fundamentals Recipes
Tufts University's Nutrition Navigator This web site is not currently conducting new review of nutrition web sites. However, the reviews and ratings contained on these pages still remain of value when taken in the context in which they were originally written. Visitors are advised to pay attention to the date of our review and use the information on this site accordingly.

Media Sites

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition This Journal is one of the publications of the American Society for Nutrition, the premier research society dedicated to improving the quality of life through the science of nutrition.
Cooking Light Recipes and articles on food, cooking, exercise and healthy living. Website for the magazine.
Environmental Nutrition Website for the newsletter. Includes articles about food, nutrition and health.
Every Day with Rachael Ray Recipes, tips, entertainment. Website for the magazine.
Health and Nutrition Newsletter, Tufts University Honest, reliable, scientifically authoritative health and nutrition advice. Website for the newsletter.
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics The premier source for the practice and science of food, nutrition and dietetics. Website for the journal.
Meat and Poultry Business journal for meat and poultry processors. Website for the magazine.
Men's Health Men's heath, nutrition and fitness. Website for the magazine.
Self Magazine Women's fashion and health. Videos and non-print content. Website for the magazine.
Today's Dietitian Nutrition news and information. Nutrition podcasts online. Website for the magazine.
Vegetarian Times Recipes, nutrition, reviews, online vegetarian community. Website for the magazine.
Women's Nutrition Connection Practical advice on nutrition, exercise and information on the health issues that concern women. Website for the magazine.