Helpful Books in the Library
Find vegetarian and vegan cookbooks in the TX837 section and history in the TX392 section.
The Vegetarian Flavor Bible by
Throughout time, people have chosen to adopt a vegetarian or vegan diet for a variety of reasons, from ethics to economy to personal and planetary well-being. Experts now suggest a new reason for doing so: maximizing flavor -- which is too often masked by meat-based stocks or butter and cream. The Vegetarian Flavor Bible is an essential guide to culinary creativity, based on insights from dozens of leading American chefs, representing such acclaimed restaurants as Crossroads and M.A.K.E. in Los Angeles; Candle 79, Dirt Candy, and Kajitsu in New York City, Green Zebra in Chicago, Greens and Millennium in San Francisco, Natural Selection and Portobello in Portland, Plum Bistro in Seattle, and Vedge in Philadelphia. Emphasizing plant-based whole foods including vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, nuts, and seeds, the book provides an A-to-Z listing of hundreds of ingredients, from avßav? to zucchini blossoms, cross-referenced with the herbs, spices, and other seasonings that best enhance their flavor, resulting in thousands of recommended pairings. The Vegetarian Flavor Bible is the ideal reference for the way millions of people cook and eat today -- vegetarians, vegans, and omnivores alike. This groundbreaking book will empower both home cooks and professional chefs to create more compassionate, healthful, and flavorful cuisine.
Call Number: TX837 .P34 2014ISBN: 9780316244183Publication Date: 2014-10-14
The Dietitian's Guide to Vegetarian Diets Issues and Applications by
The Dietitian's Guide to Vegetarian Diets: Issues and Applications provides the most up-to-date information on vegetarian diets. Written for dietitians and other health care professionals, the Third Edition can be used as an aid for counseling vegetarian clients and those interested in becoming vegetarian or serve as a textbook for classroom study for students who have completed introductory coursework in nutrition. Evidence-based and thoroughly referenced, this text includes case-studies, sample menus, and counseling points to help students apply material to the real world.
Call Number: RM236 .M444 2011ISBN: 9780763779764Publication Date: 2010-10-08
The Book of Yields by
The Book of Yields: Accuracy in Food Costing and Purchasing now in its eighth edition is a chef's best resource for planning and preparing food more quickly and accurately. It is the foodservice manager's most powerful tool for controlling costs. This new edition combines yield information with information on wholesale food prices, worksheets for costing ingredients, and worksheets for planning food purchases. It is constructed with a durable comb binding that allows it to lay flat while readers work in the kitchen. This hands-on reference provides a substantial collection of accurate food measurements for more than 1,400 raw food ingredients. Measurements are given in weight-to-volume equivalents, trim yields, and cooking yields. Completely up to date with helpful information relating to new food trends, The Book of Yields, Eighth Edition will be the best the tool in your kitchen.
Call Number: TX531 .L9596 2012 Ready Reference. Library Use OnlyISBN: 9780470197493Publication Date: 2010-12-20
Search in these Databases for Articles
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Electronic Nutrition Care Process Terminology (eNCPT) Reference Manual.For Food & Nutrition students and professionals. Click on the "LAUNCH PUBLICATION" link at the eNCPT site to access the content. eNCPT features updated terminology used in the nutrition care process: Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention, Monitoring, & Evaluation. Please use the link in the green bar at the top of the page to "LOG OUT" at the end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the eNCPT at the same time, so please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Evidence Analysis LibraryResearch on nutrition, nutrients, and foods used to promote health throughout the human life cycle (infants to seniors), including evidence-based nutrition guidelines to treat diseases and conditions. Use together with the Nutrition Care Manual (NCM). PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the EAL at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Nutrition Care Manual (NCM)Evidence-based nutrition care information for diseases & conditions, complete with meal plans, electronic calculators, and client/patient education handouts. See also the "Resources" tab and sidebar for cultural/ethnic food practices. Use together with the Evidence Analysis Library (EAL). PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the NCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Pediatric Nutrition Care ManualChildren/patient information handouts (with Spanish translations), meal plan handouts, and nutrition care for diseases & conditions including behavioral health. Also includes online calculators. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the PNCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Sports Nutrition Care ManualNutrition information is provided by Board Certified Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs). Includes patient information and meal plan handouts, nutrition care for diseases & conditions, and online calculators to estimate BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the SNCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Culinary Arts CollectionMany full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines, plus recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry trends & news.
- Food Science SourceMany full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
- Health & Wellness Resource CenterComplete content from medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources plus many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals.
- Health Reference Center AcademicMany full-text articles on such topics as addictions, diseases, fitness, nutrition, occupational health & safety, prescription drugs, public health, and more. This is a subset of the larger database Health & Wellness Resource Center.
- Hospitality & Tourism CompleteMany full-text articles covering Baking & Culinary Arts, Business Travel, Event Management, Food & Beverage, Gaming & Casinos, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management, Leisure Studies, Market Trends, Meetings, Menu Planning, Restaurants, and more.
- Natural MedicinesProvides evidence-based medical and alternative therapies for medical conditions and sports medicine. Covers functional foods, diets, supplements (including herbs), exercises and more.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextMany full-text articles from sports and sports medicine journals plus books and book chapters.
Vegetarian Food Pyramid
- Vegetarian & Vegan Diet PyramidThis site from Oldways provides drawings of the vegetarian food pyramid for both adult and child dietary needs and a great description of them. "File:Loma Linda University Vegetarian Food Pyramid.jpg." Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository. 27 Oct 2020, 05:12 UTC. 20 Oct 2021, 12:29
Find Articles
Find great info on vegetarian topics in these well-known magazines and journals.
- Academy of Nutrition & DieteticsSearch for articles on vegan diets and vegetarian diets.
- KidsHealthThis website is provided by Nemours, one of the largest non-profit organizations specializing in children's health. This link provides information on vegetarian diets for children.
- Cleveland Clinic InformationThis health organization's website outlines a healthy vegetarian diet during pregnancy.
