Books from the Library
Vegan for Life by
Going vegan? Here's the go-to-guide, with a six-step transition plan to a plant-based diet, with detailed nutritional information for everyone from athletes to kids to pregnant women. Whether you're considering going vegan or just want to learn more about plant-based nutrition, Vegan for Life is your comprehensive, go-to guide for optimal healthy eating. Registered dietitians and long-time vegans Jack Norris and Virginia Messina debunk some of the most persistent myths about vegan nutrition and provide essential information about getting enough calcium and protein, finding the best supplements, and understanding the "real deal" about soy. Covering everything from a six-step transition plan to meeting protein requirements and even calorie and nutrient needs during pregnancy and breastfeeding, Vegan for Life is the guide for aspiring and veteran vegans alike, complete with an easy-to-use food chart, tasty substitutions, sample menus, and expansive resources.
Call Number: RA784 .N665 2011ISBN: 9780738214931Publication Date: 2011-07-12
Vegan Vegetarian Omnivore by
In Vegan Vegetarian Omnivore, Anna Thomas teaches cooks how to begin with delicious vegan and vegetarian recipes that everyone can eat and expand them with dairy, meat and seafood in easy variations. French lentil and farro pilaf with grilled ratatouille makes a beautiful vegan summer supper with lamb chops for the omnivores. Easy fish soup begins as a robust vegetable soup but fish can be added five minutes before serving. For dessert, have vegan gingerbread and add vanilla ice cream. With recipes and menus inspired by the vibrant produce of farmers' markets, Anna welcomes all eaters to her table--where hospitality is universal.
Call Number: TX714 .T49335 2016ISBN: 9780393083019Publication Date: 2016-04-18
The Inspired Vegan by
From the author of Vegan Soul Kitchen: ingredients that inspire, unique recipes, and menus for everyday feasts. Marking his 10-year anniversary working to create a healthy, just, and sustainable food system, Bryant Terry offers more than just a collection of recipes. In the spirit of jazz jam sessions and hip hop ciphers, The Inspired Vegan presents a collage of food, storytelling, music, and art. Bryant shares his favorite preparation / cooking techniques and simple recipes -- basics to help strengthen your foundation for home cooking and equip you with tools for culinary improvisation and kitchen creativity. He also invites you to his table to enjoy seasonal menus inspired by family memories, social movements, unsung radical heroes, and visions for the future. Ultimately, The Inspired Vegan will help you become proficient in creating satisfying meals that use whole, fresh, seasonal ingredients and are nutritionally balanced -- and full of surprising, mouthwatering flavor combinations.
Call Number: TX837 .T4338 2012ISBN: 9780738213750Publication Date: 2012-01-24
Library Databases, Articles, and Journals
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Electronic Nutrition Care Process Terminology (eNCPT) Reference Manual.For Food & Nutrition students and professionals. Click on the "LAUNCH PUBLICATION" link at the eNCPT site to access the content. eNCPT features updated terminology used in the nutrition care process: Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention, Monitoring, & Evaluation. Please use the link in the green bar at the top of the page to "LOG OUT" at the end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the eNCPT at the same time, so please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Evidence Analysis LibraryResearch on nutrition, nutrients, and foods used to promote health throughout the human life cycle (infants to seniors), including evidence-based nutrition guidelines to treat diseases and conditions. Use together with the Nutrition Care Manual (NCM). PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the EAL at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Nutrition Care Manual (NCM)Evidence-based nutrition care information for diseases & conditions, complete with meal plans, electronic calculators, and client/patient education handouts. See also the "Resources" tab and sidebar for cultural/ethnic food practices. Use together with the Evidence Analysis Library (EAL). PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the NCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Pediatric Nutrition Care ManualChildren/patient information handouts (with Spanish translations), meal plan handouts, and nutrition care for diseases & conditions including behavioral health. Also includes online calculators. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the PNCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. Of Nutrition & Dietetics: Sports Nutrition Care ManualNutrition information is provided by Board Certified Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs). Includes patient information and meal plan handouts, nutrition care for diseases & conditions, and online calculators to estimate BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the SNCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Culinary Arts CollectionMany full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines, plus recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry trends & news.
- Food Science SourceMany full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
- Health & Wellness Resource CenterComplete content from medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources plus many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals.
- Health Reference Center AcademicMany full-text articles on such topics as addictions, diseases, fitness, nutrition, occupational health & safety, prescription drugs, public health, and more. This is a subset of the larger database Health & Wellness Resource Center.
- Hospitality & Tourism CompleteMany full-text articles covering Baking & Culinary Arts, Business Travel, Event Management, Food & Beverage, Gaming & Casinos, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management, Leisure Studies, Market Trends, Meetings, Menu Planning, Restaurants, and more.
- Natural MedicinesProvides evidence-based medical and alternative therapies for medical conditions and sports medicine. Covers functional foods, diets, supplements (including herbs), exercises and more.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextMany full-text articles from sports and sports medicine journals plus books and book chapters.
Vb6 by
If you're one of the millions who have thought of trying a vegan diet but fear it's too monotonous or unfamiliar, VB6 will introduce a flexible way of eating that you can really live with for life. Six years ago, an overweight, pre-diabetic Mark Bittman faced a medical directive: adopt a vegan diet or go on medication. He was no fan of a lifelong regimen of pills, but as a food writer he lived--and worked--to eat. So neither choice was appealing. His solution was a deal with himself. He would become a "flexitarian." He adopted a diet heavy in vegetables, fruits, and grains by following a healthy vegan diet (no meat, dairy, or processed foods) all day. After 6:00 p.m. he'd eat however he wanted, though mostly in moderation. Beyond that, his plan involved no gimmicks, scales, calorie counting, or point systems. And there were no so-called forbidden foods--he ate mostly home-cooked meals that were as varied and satisfying as they were delicious. He called this plan Vegan Before 6:00 (VB6 for short), and the results were swift and impressive. Best of all, they proved to be lasting and sustainable over the long haul. Bittman lost 35 pounds and saw all of his blood numbers move in the right direction. Using extensive scientific evidence to support his plan, the acclaimed cookbook author and food policy columnist shows why his VB6 approach succeeds when so many other regimens not only fail, but can actually lead to unwanted weight gain. He then provides all the necessary tools for making the switch to a flexitarian diet: lists for stocking the pantry, strategies for eating away from home in a variety of situations, pointers for making cooking on a daily basis both convenient and enjoyable, and a complete 28-day eating plan showing VB6 in action. Finally, Bittman provides more than 60 recipes for vegan breakfasts, lunches, and snacks, as well as non-vegan dinners that embrace the spirit of a vegetable- and grain-forward diet.
Call Number: TX837 .B5278 2013ISBN: 9780385344746Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World by
The hosts of the vegan cooking show The Post Punk Kitchen are back with a vengeance , and this time, dessert. A companion volume to Vegan with a Vengeance, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World is a sweet and sassy guide to baking everyone's favourite treat without using any animal products. This unique cookbook contains over 50 recipes for cupcakes and frostings , some innovative, some classics , with beautiful full colour photographs. Isa and Terry offer delicious, cheap, dairy-free, egg-free and vegan-friendly recipes like Classic Vanilla Cupcakes (with chocolate frosting), Crimson Velveteen Cupcakes (red velvet with creamy white frosting), Linzer Torte Cupcakes (hazelnut with raspberry and chocolate ganache), Chai Latte Cupcakes (with powdered sugar) and Banana Split Cupcakes (banana-chocolate chip-pineapple with fluffy frosting). Included also are gluten-free recipes, decorating tips, baking guidelines, vegan shopping advice, and Isa's true cupcake anecdotes from the trenches. When Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, no dessert lover can resist.
Call Number: TX771 .M7885 2006ISBN: 9781569242735Publication Date: 2006-10-17
