JWU-Charlotte Library:
801 West Trade Street, Charlotte, North Carolina 28202
980 598-1611
What you'll find below is a starting place for locating historical information on a variety of dishes.
| Dish | Books containing historical information about dish | Online Resources |
| Jamaican Jerk Chicken |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Jefferson Davis Pie |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) The Presidents' cookbook: practical recipes from George Washington to the present - Call Number: TX715 .C218 (Available in Strope Collection) |
|
| Jezebel Sauce |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
|
| Joe's Special |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Johnny Cake |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Kaiser Rolls |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Kentucky Burgoo |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Key Lime Pie |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| King Cake |
A World of Cake - Call Number TX771 .C35 2010 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Kransekake |
A World of Cake - Call Number TX771 .C35 2010 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Kugelhupf |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
|
| Lady Baltimore Cake |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) Cakes from around the World - Call Number: TX771 .D836 2009 (Available in Reference)
|
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Lamb Medallions Conti |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) |
|
| Lane Cake |
Rare Bits - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Linzertorte |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Lobster Newburg |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Encyclopedia of American Food & Drink: Call Number: TX349 .M266 1999 Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Lobster Thermidor |
Chicken a la King & the Buffalo Wing: Food Names and the People and Places that Inspired Them - Call Number: TX349 .G54 2008 (Available at the Reference Desk) Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |
http://www.foodtimeline.org |
| Lussekatter (Lucy Cats) |
Rare Bits: Unusual Origins of Popular Recipes - Call Number: TX714 .S7812 1998 (Available in Reference collection) |