An Important Note
When searching in Medical Databases or for medical information, it is important to make sure you are using the correct Subject Headings as keywords. The Medical field uses MeSH (the Medical Subject Headings Thesaurus). If you are having trouble finding resources with a medical search term, use MeSH to make sure you are using the correct one. For example, "heart attack" is not a MeSH subject heading, instead classified by "Myocardial Infarction". MeSH can be found here, or in the "Internet Resources" tab of this LibGuide. For tutorials on using MeSH, click here.
General Databases
Good for building a search vocabulary, building a research question, and basic information.
- Academic Search CompleteMany full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.
- CQ ResearcherContains comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It is noted for its coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press and date back to 1991
- CREDO ReferenceOver 500 reference books online such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and quotations in many subject areas: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine/Health, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology. See the “Gadgets" tab for useful tools such as a measurement converter.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsAll full-text scholarly and scientific journals covering wide-ranging subjects.
- Kanopy Streaming VideosBrowse thousands of streaming classic, educational, indie and documentary films covering a multitude of subjects including: The Arts; Business/Training; Education; Gender, Race & Diversity; Health; Humanities; Media/Communication; Sciences; Tourism & Hospitality and more. PLEASE USE CHROME OR IE WHEN TRYING TO ACCESS THIS DATABASE.
- Opposing Viewpoints In ContextSupport your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.
- ScholarsArchive@JWURepository for journal articles, working papers, dissertations & theses, and other creative works published by Johnson & Wales University faculty, students, and staff, plus special collections such as restaurant menus.
Nursing Databases
- CINHAL UltimateCINAHL Ultimate is an essential research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, providing broad content coverage of 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine. CINAHL Complete resources include journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
- Health & Wellness Resource CenterComplete content from medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources plus many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals.
- Health Reference Center AcademicMany full-text articles on such topics as addictions, diseases, fitness, nutrition, occupational health & safety, prescription drugs, public health, and more. This is a subset of the larger database Health & Wellness Resource Center.
- McGraw Hill Access MedicineMedical textbooks, multimedia library, and diagnostic tools
Medical Dx and Rx point of care, customizable patient education
Practice tests, CME credits
Register for a MyAccess account using your JWU email and download the app for enhanced remote access and features - PubMed
- Citations from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering
- Links to full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website, PubMed Central (PMC), or accessible JWU library content
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowPoint-of-care interactive evidence-based pathways related to specific clinical questions and lab monographs to quickly help interpret abnormal results and choose next steps
- Trip Medical DatabaseTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.
Need to contact a librarian?
Phone# 980-598-1611
Email: charlottelibrary@jwu.edu
We are located at the corner of Trade St. & Cedar St., in the Gateway Village.
