LibGuides: Primary vs. Secondary Sources for Scientific Research: Science Resources

JWU Library Databases

CINHAL Complete
CINAHL Complete is an essential research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, providing broad content coverage of 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine. CINAHL Complete resources include journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
Food Science Source
Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts with Full Text
FSTA with Full Text is a specialized full-text database covering scientific and technological literature relating to food, beverages and nutrition. It is produced in collaboration with a team of experts within IFIS, a not-for-profit organization with an ongoing commitment to learning and development and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy and excellence.

In addition to the core areas of food science, food technology and nutrition, __FSTA with Full Text__ includes food-focused content across a host of related fields, including:
- Biotechnology
- Food safety
- Omics technologies
- Pet foods
- Sport science
- Sustainability
PubMed
- Citations from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering
- Links to full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website, PubMed Central (PMC), or accessible JWU library content
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?otool=rijwullib
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier)
Selective, full-text access to articles in journal titles which JWU subscribes to and through Open Access agreements with publishers. IMPORTANT: If a citation displays "Open Access", follow the journal publisher's instructions for obtaining that article such as delivering it to you via email. Also, you may have to register for FREE with that publisher in order to open up/view the article.

Resources

Free Digital Collections with Primary Sources

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Digitized Archival Primary Sources in STEM: A Selected Webliography
Provides links to primary source collections in: Biology & Natural History, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering & Technology, Environment/Forestry/ Agriculture, Medicine, Physics, and General STEM.
Internet Archive
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
Digital Public Library of America
Many libraries and museums house primary sources. This website will search digital repositories of open-access content!
Primary Source Sets (DPLA)
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Project Gutenberg
Nearly 48,000 digitized books as of 2015. All in the public domain (in general, published before 1923). Available in epub, kindle, PDF or to be read online. Over 50 languages. Great source for classics and historical works.