Reference
-
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health 2nd Edition
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more.
Publication Date: 2020 -
Health Reference Series: Global Public Health and Disease Control Sourcebook
by
Provides basic consumer information on global public health, infectious diseases that affect global public health, environmental pollutants that affect global public health, and precautions to control these global infections. Includes an index and a directory of organizations for additional help and information.
Publication Date: 2022 -
Key Concepts in Public Health
by
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
Publication Date: 2009
Books
General Databases
-
Academic Search CompleteMany full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.
-
CREDO ReferenceOver 500 reference books online such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and quotations in many subject areas: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine/Health, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology. See the “Gadgets" tab for useful tools such as a measurement converter.
Subject Databases
-
Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
-
CINHAL UltimateCINAHL Ultimate is an essential research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, providing broad content coverage of 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine. CINAHL Complete resources include journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
-
Health and Life Sciences Journals Collection (ScienceDirect / Elsevier)This database provides full-text access to articles and chapters from over 1,200 ScienceDirect e-journals and e-books covering the fields of Health & Life Sciences, Nutrition, Chemistry and Environmental Science. Access ranges from 1995 - present.
-
Health Reference Center AcademicMany full-text articles on such topics as addictions, diseases, fitness, nutrition, occupational health & safety, prescription drugs, public health, and more. This is a subset of the larger database Health & Wellness Resource Center.
-
Health & Wellness Resource CenterComplete content from medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources plus many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals.
-
PubMed
- Citations from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering
- Links to full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website, PubMed Central (PMC), or accessible JWU library content
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
Web Resources
-
CDC- Public Health 101These materials introduce public health core functions and essential services.
-
CDC DataVarious data sets on different public health issues collected by the CDC.
-
TED Talk-Ideas about Public HealthA collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Public health.
-
National Library of MedicineLibrary that provides equal access to biomedical information. The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers. Users may need an institutional affiliation to access some of the resources.
-
PLOSPLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
