Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In-depth coverage of communication and mass media in the fields of Arts & Entertainment, Business, Communication, Education, General Interest, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Writing, Politics & Government, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences & Humanities, and Technology. See the "I" icon for examples of specific topics.
Books in the JWU Library
The Social Media Guru Why buy this book? It's practical. It's visual. It's crammed with relevant examples, infographics and actionable takeaways for you to implement straight away. What will you learn? •How to actually use Snapchat, Twitter, Youtube, Facebook and Instagram the right way in 2016. • An understanding of what makes your audience engaged on social media and the scientific, psychological'why'behind it. •How to create a brand and social media content that people actually give a crap about and want to follow, share and like. •How to grow your audience, get them to love you and then part with their money. •How to utilise free marketing and low cost paid social marketing to generate leads and sales. •How to create persuasive messages that lead to a purchase through images and copywriting. Who is this book for? Do you have small business that needs some exposure but don't know where to start when it comes to marketing? are you a regular social media user but you have no clue what content you should post on your business page? Have you ever wondered how that small online retailer you follow on Instagram has become an overnight success fulfilling thousands of orders a week? Is it really possible to make sales through low budget Snapchat videos, funny memes, and controversial Tweets? Whether you're an online shoe retailer, a local plumber or you run your own freelance consultancy business. If you want to use social media to make you more profit, refresh your current marketing strategy or kick your new business into gear this is the guide for you! We live in a time where... Entire businesses are built on platforms like Snapchat, YouTube and Instagram. This book shows you how to grow an audience of loyal followers through content who want to buy whatever you have to sell! Look around you…Notice how your friend spends 4 minutes trying to upload the perfect a Snap to Snapchat of her food at a cool new restaurant while her dish gets cold? Or, your brother who happily spends hours intently watching YouTube videos of a gamer playing minecraft? How many times a day do you open your social media apps on your phone? We are addicted to social media and the branded content we consume defines us & informs the way we live our lives. Social media has become the first thing we do before we eat, sleep or even acknowledge our surroundings. Have you almost been hit by a bus because you are too busy scanning through your Instagram feed? I have. Many times. All you need is... The right content, posted at the right time on the right platform which is viewed by the right person to make your social media business page a success. Everyone is glued to social media, but how do you make money from it? This book takes you through our step by step blueprint to social media marketing success, (it isn't yet another wishy washy guide to Facebook advertising). Who is the Social Media Guru? The Social Media Guru is made up of two people with combined marketing knowledge, experience and expertise. We have consulted for Groupon, Metro Bank, o2, Google Squared Online and been trained by Google, digital agencies and the Institute of Direct and Digital Marketing. We are passionate about Digital marketing - we understand it, we work in it, we know what works.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
Writing for Social Media by Engaging with customers through social media is essential for businesses in this day and age. Writing for social media can be difficult to get right and even big brands can get it very wrong.This book walks you through how to deliver maximum benefit for your business through your social media writing. Topics include how to develop an online persona, how to tailor your messages across different social media platforms, how to appeal to your audience, and how to use social media tools.
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Business Letter Writing
The AMA Handbook of Business Letters by Though the fundamentals of letter writing have remained the same, the way we communicate in business is constantly evolving. Whether it's a formal printed letter or an email, the ability to write effective correspondence is essential for success--no matter what the industry. Containing more than 25 percent new material, The AMA Handbook of Business Letters provides readers with over 370 customizable model letters, divided into categories reflecting various aspects of business, including: * Sales, marketing, and public relations * Customer service * Human resources * Credit and collection * Letters to vendors and suppliers * Confirmations, requests, and replies * Permissions * And many more In addition, the book provides readers with a refresher course in the letter-writing basics, and helpful appendices listing common mistakes in grammar, word usage, and punctuation. Comprehensive--and now extensively updated--this invaluable resource provides professionals with an adaptable template for every conceivable business correspondence need.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-07-11
Writing Business Letters Across Languages by "This book discusses the most widespread and acceptable approaches to writing business letters in a readily understandable fashion, exploring rules and conventions based on actual contemporary practices. Emphasis is placed on types of business letters across languages, patterns of thinking, cross-cultural communication, the effect of style, tone and the mechanics of writing, and grammar. This book is written for all kinds of readers, particularly students and teachers involved in writing business letters for translation purposes, in addition to executives, small business owners, secretaries, and salespersons who are involved in cross-cultural communication.Because of its multifaceted nature, this book serves not only as a practical and comprehensive guide to business correspondence, but also as a tool that helps professionals write business letters and understand their counterparts within the contexts of other languages. It provides various examples from Arabic, English and French, covering a wide range of situations and offers practical advice on wording, content, style, and structure. A list of business terms and their definitions is included at the end of this book to help readers understand their meaning and implications across cultures."
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
How to Write Better Business Letters by Updated to meet today’s business needs and reflect the use of current technology, this book presents approximately 75 model letters that demonstrate correct formats and modes of expression used in business correspondence. Categories include credit applications, letters of inquiry, orders of goods and services, formal business announcements, letters of recommendation, letters dealing with complaints and claims, in-house correspondence, news releases, sales letters as used by direct marketers, and more. This book also features examples of different letter formatting styles as well as sections on e-mail correspondence and effective presentation of Internet rÃ©sumÃ©s.
Call Number: HF5721 .H43 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Style Guide for Business Writing by Style guides come in many shapes and sizes, usually focused toward scientific or academic use only. However, business writing is a space occupied by many individuals that has not been given the attention it deserves. The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers in both the public and private sector, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer. Major topics are arranged alphabetically and the cross references and index enable quick and easy access to information. Michael C. Thomsett is a market expert, author, speaker, and coach. His many books include Stock Market Math, Candlestick Charting, The Mathematics of Options, and A Technical Approach to Trend Analysis.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018-07-23
Today's Business Communication by This handy guide to excellent business communications is perfect for both college students and business professionals. Whether preparing for a career, launching a career, or advancing in a career, the savvy professional understands that every organization expects employees to be exceptional business communicators. Todayâe(tm)s Business Communication: A How-To Guide For The Modern Professional, is the how-to guide that leads readers through the most frequently encountered business communications situations. Two business partners who are also business school professors share their combined thirty years of marketing and communication experience with readers in this accessible, entertaining, and informative guide. The authors enhance the readersâe(tm) experience through anecdotes from clients and students. As a value-added benefit of the book, readers receive a tw0-week improvement plan that polishes business-communications skills in writing and presenting situations.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-06-15
Business Writing in the Digital Age by Business Writing in the Digital Age fills an urgent need to equip business and MBA students to write more effectively in a style that works for today′s business world. Using a readable, highly accessible approach and numerous concrete examples, this book frames writing as a strategic tool to accomplish goals. Readers learn a step-by-step system that tells them what to say, and how to say it in every circumstance. At the same time they learn how to improve their technical skills by applying practical techniques rather than grammatical rules. In today′s business world, success depends on writing. Those who write well are better able to win opportunities, establish their reputation, persuade others to their viewpoint and build relationships. They collaborate, manage and lead more effectively. Writing well also equips businesspeople to function in a global marketplace and reach increasingly diverse audiences. This book builds readers′ confidence and capabilities. No matter what their starting point, they absorb a solid foundation that applies to all writing. They also learn the specifics of crafting messages and documents that range from the traditional, like letters and proposals, to media such as email, blogs, web sites, PowerPoint and social networking. This broad coverage makes the material relevant and compelling. Students also develop tools to keep improving on their own, and to handle new communication channels as they emerge. Business Writing in the Digital Age helps teachers stay current with a changing media landscape. They can use it as a complete guide to writing development, drawing on the practice opportunities and group projects supplied, or assign students to work with some--or all the material--on their own.
Call Number: HF5718.3 .C365 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-20
Chat with a JWU Librarian