Industry Classification Codes
- North American Industry Classification System NACISNAICS (pronounced Nakes) was developed by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) as the standard for use by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the collection, tabulation, presentation, and analysis of statistical data describing the U.S. economy. Use of the standard provides uniformity and comparability in the presentation of statistics. Replaced the SIC system in 1997
- Standard Industry Classification System SICSIC is a four-digit classification system developed in the 1930's for use by the U.S. federal government. Although still used in some databases, the SIC classification system is no longer being revised.
Library Databases
- Academic Search CompleteMany full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.
- Business CollectionSelective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
- Business Insights: GlobalComprehensive business content including case studies, company profiles & industry research reports, country economic reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives. (formerly, Business & Company Resource Center)
- Business Source CompleteValuable company profiles from Datamonitor with SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- First Research (Mergent)17 kinds of FINANCIAL RATIOS for more than 380+ in-depth industry profiles and 900 smaller industry segments. Find an overview of business challenges, trends, industry opportunities. See also "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment & wage data for each of the 50 states. And, link to "Call Prep Questions" from within an industry to prepare for job interviews! NOTE: YOU MUST CLICK THROUGH 3 PAGES (2 "Continue" and 1 "Submit" page) before reaching the "Search for Industry and Geographic Profiles" main page.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
- MarketResearch.com AcademicIndustry reports include demographics, market trends, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new products, and consumer trends & buyer behavior in such fields as Food & Beverage, Food Service & Hospitality, Retailing, Technology & Media, Travel & Leisure.
- Richard K. Miller Marketing Research HandbooksE-books in such fields as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Energy, Carbon Reduction and “green jobs”, Entertainment/Media & Advertising, Healthcare, Hotels & Resorts, Leisure, Restaurant & Foodservice, Retailing, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism.
- Simmons InsightsSimmons Insights is Simmons Research’s web-based platform for analysis of national consumer and market insights. There is a limit of 25 simultaneous users at the same time.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextMany full-text articles from sports and sports medicine journals plus books and book chapters.
