Sexual and Gender Minority Health by
Research concerning sexual and gender minority (SGM) health has flourished in recent years in conjunction with a period of intense social, political, and legal discourse about SGM persons. While this attention has increased understanding and recognition of SGM experiences, recent advances have often been met with resistance and backlash rooted in social stigma and long histories of discrimination. This volume of Advances in Medical Sociologyshowcases rich theoretical and empirical contributions on SGM health and wellbeing. The chapters address a variety of topics, drawing from classic and contemporary sociological frameworks and constructs, and reflecting intersecting interdisciplinary approaches to SGM health. Research presented in this volume provides an in-depth focus on sexual and/or gender minority populations, as well as the diverse sub-populations within them; theoretical and empirical explanations for SGM health disparities and resilience; aging and life course perspectives on the health experiences of SGM persons; health in the context of critical relationships in the lives of SGM persons; and the experiences of seeking general and specialized health care among SGM. The time is ripe for deeper examinations of the social determinants of SGM health, and this volume seeks to begin filling existing gaps in the literature.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781838671471Publication Date: 2021-01-15
Trans Studies by
Winner of the 2017 Sylvia Rivera Award in Transgender Studies from the Center for LGBTQ Studies (CLAGS) From Caitlyn Jenner to Laverne Cox, transgender people have rapidly gained public visibility, contesting many basic assumptions about what gender and embodiment mean. The vibrant discipline of Trans Studies explores such challenges in depth, building on the insights of queer and feminist theory to raise provocative questions about the relationships among gender, sexuality, and accepted social norms. Trans Studies is an interdisciplinary essay collection, bringing together leading experts in this burgeoning field and offering insights about how transgender activism and scholarship might transform scholarship and public policy. Taking an intersectional approach, this theoretically sophisticated book deeply grounded in real-world concerns bridges the gaps between activism and academia by offering examples of cutting-edge activism, research, and pedagogy.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780813576435Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Bingo Love by
2019, Texas Library Association's MaverickGraphic Novel Reading List Amazon Book Review's BestComics & Graphic Novels of2018 NPR's Best Books of2018 Newsweek's Best ComicBooks of 2018 TheAdvocate's Best LGBTQ Graphic Novels of2018 Book Riot's BestComics of2018 Autostraddle's 50 ofthe Best LGBT Books of 2018 WhenHazel Johnson and Mari McCray met at church bingo in 1963, it was love at firstsight. Forced apart by their families and society, Hazel and Mari both marriedyoung men and had families. Decades later, now in their mid-'60s, Hazel and Marireunite again at a church bingo hall. Realizing their love for each other isstill alive, what these grandmothers do next takes absolute strength andcourage. From TEE FRANKLIN(NAILBITER's "THE OUTFIT," Love is Love) and JENN ST-ONGE (Jem & theMisfits), BINGO LOVE is a touching story of love, family, and resiliency thatspans over 60 years.
Call Number: PN6728.B4968 F74 2018ISBN: 9781534307506Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Documenting Rebillions by
Documenting Rebellions is a study of four archives that were constituted with a common desire to preserve the memory and evidence of lesbian and gay people. They are The Lesbian Herstory Archives (New York), The ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives (Los Angeles), the June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives (West Hollywood), and the ArQuives: Canada's LGBTQ2+ Archives (Toronto). Using a narrative approach that draws from first-person accounts and archival research, each chapter tells a story about how these organizations came to exist, who has supported them over time, and how they have survived for more than forty years. This book is the result of a five-year project that began in 2012 and builds on the author's own experience working with lesbian and gay archives. In Documenting Rebellions, Sheffield places lesbian and gay archives in the context of changing political opportunity structures that have afforded a liberal lesbian and gay rights movement some successes while continuing to marginalize intersectional, queer and trans people. The goal of this study is not to critique these organizations, but to show how this cohort of community archives has been affected by the very same combination of socio-political and economic factors that shape the cultural histories that they preserve. Documenting Rebellions consider the material needs of archives - space, money, and expertise - that are sometimes rendered invisible by the idiosyncratically subjective cultural theory model of 'the archive' that has emerged from within interdisciplinary studies. By tracing the emergence and development of these organizations, Sheffield uncovers representational politics, institutional pluralism, generational divides, shifting national politics, interpersonal relationships, and challenges with sustainability, both financial and otherwise.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781634001137Publication Date: 2020-07-01
- Queer and of Color: A Systematic Literature Review on Queer Students of Color in Higher Education Scholarship
Duran, Antonio. “Queer and of Color: A Systematic Literature Review on Queer Students of Color in Higher Education Scholarship.” Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, vol. 12, no. 4, Dec. 2019, pp. 390–400. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1037/dhe0000084.
- Queer Penalities: The Criminal Justice Paradigm in Lesbian and Gay Anti-Violence Politics
Russell, Emma. “Queer Penalities: The Criminal Justice Paradigm in Lesbian and Gay Anti-Violence Politics.” Critical Criminology, vol. 25, no. 1, Mar. 2017, pp. 21–35. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eoah&AN=39683155&site=ehost-l
- Queer MoneyQueer Money is hosted by husbands David Auten and John Schneider, two personal finance gurus. Both are published authors in the realm of personal finance and have climbed out of the crushing pit that is credit card debt.
- National LGBTQ TaskforceThe country's oldest national LGBTQ rights organization
- UnErasing LGBTQ History and Identities: A Podcast for TeachersFor K-12 educators who want to teach LGBTQ-inclusive history, or create LGBTQ-inclusive classrooms, getting started can be confusing – and quite often prompts some fear. (What if I say or do the wrong thing? What if there is pushback? And where do I even begin?) Our Pilot Season and Season One feature K-12 educators who share their experiences from the classroom and provide real-world advice and reasonable, practical strategies to guide you. In Season Two, you will meet a few history-makers featured in our Intersections & Connections curriculum and hear some fascinating - and empowering - backstories! Visit UnErased.org to learn how History UnErased is putting LGBTQ history in its rightful place - the classroom.
- Making Gay HistoryIn order to get where we’re going, we need to take a hard look about how we got here. Making Gay History is an oral history of key figures from the LGBTQ+ movement from 1945-1990. The podcast mines author and historian Eric Marcus’s decades-old audio archive of rare interviews to create intimate, personal portraits of both known and long-forgotten champions, heroes, and witnesses to history.
