Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Education Resources: Find OER & Access Textbooks

Other Resources

NPR Podcasts
NPR is an independent, nonprofit media organization that was founded on a mission to create a more informed public. Through its network of member stations, NPR makes local stories national, national stories local, and global stories personal.

YouTube Education
YouTube.com/learning is a destination designed to offer teens and adults quality learning content. Here you will find playlists that spark your curiosity and content ranging in subjects from physics to filmmaking.

TEDTalks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks. TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.

Contact

If you have questions about the content on this page or would like more information about using OER in your course, please contact Jean Moats at jean.moats@jwu.edu.

OER Repositories, Textbooks, and more

There are many OER resources available on the web. In addition to OER repositories and OER textbooks, there are many rich multimedia sources freely available online. You can easily add these to your courses to increase student interest and engagement. Don't forget about:

OER Repositories

Digital Public Library of American (DPLA)
Links to multimedia objects from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Many items are in the public domain, but copyright status may vary. Check the "rights" field for each item.

Hippocampus.org
Repository of interactive learning objects on a variety of topics

MedEdPORTAL
Online, peer-reviewed medical resources such as teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development. These published resources can be used for education purposes without violating copyright.

MERLOT
Merlot is "a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services." 

OER Commons
A multidisciplinary repository for a variety of OER, including textbooks, syllabi, activities, video, images, etc.

Open Course Library
Teaching materials including syllabi, course activities, and assessments created by faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other educators. Some materials are meant to enhance textbooks.

The Orange Grove
Florida's OER Repository

Teaching Commons
Open education resources from leading colleges and universities.

OER Textbooks

Below is a list of OER textbooks. Despite its length, this is not an exhaustive list. Many other open textbooks and multimedia resources exist. Make an appointment with a librarian if you want help sorting through these materials.

2012 Book Project
Archive of basic college textbooks provided under a Creative Commons license by a textbook publisher

Affordable Learning Georgia
The result of collaboration between the University System of Georgia and California State University. The site provides OER textbook resources and search tools for other open education resources.

Bookboon
Free eBooks and textbooks in the Sciences, Management, Accounting, Math, Languages, Law, etc

California Digital Open Source Library
Library of textbooks, courses, course materials and more made possible by a legislative decision in California.

COERLL
The Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning presents a federally funded collection with resources for language learning.

Flat World Knowledge
Provides customizable textbooks and teaching materials to students at a low cost 

Global Text Project
Free library covering a variety of topics typical in an undergraduate program.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository containing open access works on all subjects

InTech
Provides multidisciplinary open access books and journals in Science, Technology, and Medicine.

Lumen Pressbooks
A collection of materials in a variety of subject areas developed by Lumen Learning.

NOBA
A non-profit organization that provides free psychology textbooks.

Ohio Digital Bookshelf
"Pilot project of Ohio Textbook HQ that aims to provide quality textbook options for faculty and better learning outcomes, while also saving students money."

Open Book Publishers 
A UK project that publishes books under open licenses.

Open Culture
A list of free textbooks written by scholars.

OpenEd at BC Campus
A Canadian Government funded project, begun in 2012, that provides students with open textbooks and other open educational resources.

Open Education Consortium
The primary goal of the Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) is to create awareness of OER and help colleges to identify, create and/or repurpose existing OER to improve teaching and learning and make education more accessible for all learners.

Open Learning Initiative
The Open Learning Initiative is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University.

OpenStax College
Free, open-source, peer-reviewed an high-quality textbooks for your college course.

Open SUNY Textbooks
The result of an open textbook project at the State University of New York Libraries.

Open Textbook Library
A catalog of open access textbooks to be reviewed by faculty members, made available by the University of Minnesota's College of Education and Human Development. Textbooks in this catalog are openly licensed, complete, and available in print at very little cost. 

panOpen
panOpen is a platform that enables mainstream institutional adoption of Open Educational Resources as an alternative to commercial textbooks. It provides faculty with turnkey peer-reviewed content, tools for customization, assessment, and analytics, and a means of financially sustaining campus-based OER efforts, allowing faculty to lower costs and improve learning outcomes.

PDX Scholar
Portland State University's institutional repository, which includes a small collection of open access texts authored by faculty there. Remixing may be required as some content was gathered from paid library materials.

Project Gutenberg
Library of open access ebooks, including creative works in the public domain.

Saylor Academy
Includes courses on Art History, Biology, Business Administration, Chemistry, Communication, Computer Science, Economics, English, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Professional Development, Psychology, Sociology, Study Skills

SmARThistory
Art history textbook including multimedia from Khan Academy.

Textbook Media
Textbooks sorted by author and topic that can be downloaded for free or, in some cases, purchased in print.

Textbook Revolution
A student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors. The approach is to bring all of the free textbooks they can find together in one place, review them, and let the best rise to the top and find their way into the hands of students in classrooms around the world.