Websites
Read the Transcript and Explore the Original Document from the National Archives:
Learn More Facts About the Documents and About this Holiday:
- Constitution FactsA brief history of the origins of this holiday.
- National Archives: EventsList of Constitution Day Events and other resources hosted by the National Archives.
- National Archives: Education ResourcesEducational Resources from the National Archives to celebrate and teach Constitution Day.
- National Constitution CenterA list of programs, events, and resources related to Constitution Day
- National Constitution Center: VideosA list of educational videos created by the National Constitution Center, which seeks to teach the public about various aspects and impacts of the U.S. Constitution.
Books
The U. S. Constitution A to Z by
Constitution A to Z is a fine addition to the CQ's ready-reference encyclopedia of American government series. This comprehensive encyclopedia is an ideal resource for academic, public, and high school libraries or anyone who wants reliable information on the Constitution. Respected author Robert L. Maddex presents this guide to constitutional concepts and ideas in an A to Z format. In this one-stop reference work, readers will find: yen] 250 entries in A to Z format yen] 75 illustrations yen] appendices that include the annotated Constitution yen] a chronology of historic milestones yen] a bibliography yen] a table of cases yen] an index Sample entries include: Abortion, Armed Forces, Ballots, Bill of Rights, Census, Congress, Death Penalty, Democracy, Education, Foreign Affairs, Hate Crimes, Human Rights, International Law Internet, Justice, Lobbying, Minorities, Naturalization, Political Parties, Property, Religion Searches and Seizures, Supreme Court, Term Limits, Union, War, And more.
ISBN: 9781568026992Publication Date: 2002-01-01
CQ′s Guide to the U. S. Constitution by
A detailed index to the provisions of the Constitution, plus texts of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence are provided, as well as a glossary of terms that helps clarify the terminology used in the Constitution.
ISBN: 9781568020402Publication Date: 1995-01-01
The Creation of the U. S. Constitution by
The U.S. Constitution--with its message of liberty, the primacy of the will of the people, government accountability, separation of powers, and other democratic principles--continues today to be the model for other nations. This anthology traces the history of the framing of the Constitution in 1787 and discusses the document's important provisions, its amendments, and its legacy for subsequent generations of Americans.
ISBN: 9780737712612Publication Date: 2003-04-22
What Is Constitution Day?
Constitution Day, also known as Citizenship Day, is a federal holiday that celebrates the 39 delegates who signed the United States Constitution on September 17, 1787. It also recognizes all who have become citizens, whether by naturalization or by coming of age.
This holiday was first celebrated, as Citizenship Day, in the 1940s on the second Sunday in May. Celebrations were moved in 1952 to September 17th, to coincide with the signing date of the U.S. Constitution. In 2004, Senator Robert Byrd persuaded Congress, on behalf of Louise Leigh, to rename this holiday Constitution Day and have it officially recognized by the government. Because of Senator Byrd and Leigh's effort, all educational institutions that receive federal funding and all federal agencies are required to provide educational programming on the history of the American Constitution. This holiday helps to recognize “the value of the American experiment, and the success of a nation of free people whose rights and liberties are protected by a written Constitution,” as stated on the ConstitutionFacts website.
When Is Constitution Day?
September 17th
Brief History of the Constitution:
The United States Constitution lays the groundwork on how our national government functions, how Laws are passed, and it established the basic rights of all American citizens. The Constitution succeed the Articles of Confederations. It was championed by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay, through their publication of the Federalist Papers. Our Constitution consists of the Preamble, seven articles, and twenty-seven amendments, to date. The Preamble begins with the infamous words "We the People", and outline the purpose of the constitution. It reminds us that our government is supposed to work for all its citizens and not a select few. Additionally, the first ten amendments are known as the Bill of Rights which establish and protect the basic rights of all American citizens. The United States Constitution is considered the oldest living documents still in use today.
To Learn More Explore the Additional Resources Linked on this Page!
Check Out the Videos Below and Don't Forget to Checkout Additional Videos from Kanopy and Films on Demand (you may need to log-in using your JWU account)
Need to contact a librarian?
Phone# 980-598-1611
Email: charlottelibrary@jwu.edu
We are located at the corner of Trade St. & Cedar St., in the Gateway Village.
